Pursuit to my happiness

Learning To Let Go

Hi all! This week has been a very emotional yet inspirational week for me. I’ve learned some new negative things about myself, but I also learned how to turn those into positive things. 

Since I was young I thought it was normal to allow people to take control of your emotions, and that’s why it was so hard for me to open up to people at first. But now I know that I only give as much power for others to control me as I let them (and that’s never good). So I learned one thing that’s been drilled into my head since I was young–stand up for yourself. I thought standing up for myself meant forcing myself to be confrontational, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that. It means take a stand for what you believe in and stop being afraid of the negative consequences that *may* occur. It means that when someone hurts you, say something and don’t allow people to keep “running over” you. You’re a person too, you deserve to speak up when you’re hurting. 

Also I’ve learned how to let go of the things that do hurt me. Sometimes it’s nice to blame someone else for influencing you to feel a certain kind of way, but really I was just internalizing how I felt and took it out on the person who made me feel that way. That’s a terrible way to treat people; however, luckily there’s a way out and I’ve finally learned! Writing helped me, my old friend!, but everyone has their different niche. I encourage you to analyze your feelings and ask yourself if holding in how you feel will benefit you or hurt you.

 

Remember to think!

 

XO,

B

Leave a Reply

